Connor Baxter Wins the Ultimate Waterman SUP Race

Congratulations to Connor Baxter for winning the Ultimate Waterman Race in New Zealand. Connor won the 15km Race on the Starboard Ace winning 8 seconds ahead of Danny Ching.

The Ultimate Waterman is a new event to 2015, being the first event to invite 8 of the worlds best athletes to compete in 6 disciplines across 8 days to test and determine 1 Ultimate Waterman. Connor, along with Kai Lenny and Danny Ching in the Top 3 Rankings traveled to New Zealand to compete in Big Wave Surfing, Outrigger Racing, Shortboard, Longboard & SUP Surfing and finally the SUP Endurance Race.

Conditions unveiled for the surf events which saw New Zealand’s own Daniel Kereopa take the lead going into the final event: the SUP Endurance Race to decide and crown the all time winner.  The Endurance Race held at Mission Bay kicked off with a running beach start, followed by a long upwind grind before turning back for the downwind stretch. With the end title nearly in sight, the race was the last effort and a true to test of skill and endurance for the athletes. The race came down to a battle between Baxter and Ching, going neck and neck, desperately trying to get some solid clearance. The battle continued until the closing distance where Connor took the lead, in his element in the downwind stretch, he was able to ride the bumps to get a confident 8 second lead from Danny.

The most popular board on the day was the Ace, with 4 out of 8 athletes riding it. From discussion among riders, it was safe to say “if you don’t have an Ace, you don’t stand a chance” Jeremy Stephenson.

However, despite the final results of the SUP race, Daniel Kereopa from his solid performance throughout the entire event proved his title winning the Ultimate Waterman.


15km SUP Race Results

1st: Connor Baxter (HAW), 1:31:10
2nd: Danny Ching (USA), 1:31:18
3rd: Georges Cronsteadt (TAH), 1:37:30
4th: Kai Lenny (HAW), 1:40:00
5th: Daniel Kereopa (NZL), 1:46:06
6th: Manoa Drollet (TAH), 1:54:24
7th: Mark Visser (AUS), 2:01:36
8th: Kala Alexander (HAW), 2:05:37

Overall Event Standings

1th: Daniel Kereopa (NZL), 4836
2th: Kai Lenny (HAW), 4650
3th: Connor Baxter (HAW), 4625
4th: Danny Ching (USA), 4499
5th: Manoa Drollet (TAH), 4249
6th: Mark Visser (AUS), 4061
7th: Georges Cronsteadt (TAH), 3981
8th: Kala Alexander (HAW), 3576

Running Sprint Start Credit Jim Culley Race StartConnor with Kai leadingimage1Credit Jim Culley - Connor and Danny Connor On AceConnor & Danny fighting it out Credit to Ian TraffordConnor and Danny Recovery Connor podium with Danny